2021 Programme

Thursday, 23 September 2021

2.00 pm Welcome to delegates by the Congress Chairman
2.05 pm Presentation – “The Story of Flying from the Stray” – Peter Rix
3.00 pm Tea and Coffee
3.30 pm Presentation – “Local Postcards” – Keith Burton
4.30 pm Presentations by the 2021 Congress medallists: Barry Burns and Bernard Mabbett
6.30 pm Reception at the Hotel
7.00 pm Dinner at the Crowne Plaza Hotel – open to non-residents
8.30 pm “Four sheets to tell a story” competition – all delegates

Friday, 24 September 2021

9.30 am Congress assembles
10.00 am Official opening of Congress by the Mayor of Harrogate
10.30 am Tea and Coffee
11.00 am The Kay Goodman Lecture – “Have Philatelic Societies a Future?”-Richard Smith, Leeds Philatelic Society
12.00 pm Association of British Philatelic Societies Annual General Meeting
1.00 pm Lunch
3.00 pm RDP Ceremony and Congress Medal Ceremony at the Crowne Plaza Hotel (black tie preferred)
5.45 pm RDP Ceremony drinks reception at the Crowne Plaza hotel
7.00 pm Dinner at the Crowne Plaza Hotel for those delegates not attending the RDP dinner – open to non-residents
8.30 pm A presentation by Graham Winters to members of the Harrogate Philatelic Society and Congress delegates: “Yorkshire, my adopted county”  ALL WELCOME!

Saturday, 25 September 2021

Standing Display: Jon Aitchison “The local posts of the Isle of Man”
9.30 “Persia 1896-1907, Reign of Muzaffer-ed-Din Shah Qajar” – Nigel Gooch FRPSL 2020 Congress Medallist
10.10 “The Fathers of Philately” – Chris King RDP
11.00 Tea and Coffee
11.30 “The Great, Funny and Unrepeatable Father of Philately – Doctor Thebussem” – Jose Ramon Mereno RDP
12.00 “Why I became & remained a philatelist ” – Henrik Mouritsen RDP
12.30 “The expected and unexpected from my collection” – James Grimwood Taylor RDP
1.00 Lunch
2.00 A chance to explore Harrogate
7.15 Reception at Hotel, sponsored by Cavendish Auctions
8.00 Congress Banquet at the Hotel (black tie preferred)

Sunday, 26 September 2021

Standing Display: The Recipients of the Award of Merit – Michael Dobbs, Eddie Mays, Richard Smith, Des Kent
9.30 “Modern GB postal history 1952-1971” – Frank Walton RDP
10.30 “Dominica” – Simon Richards, FRPSL
11.30 Tea and Coffee
11.45 Local philatelic societies’ members entertain – 10 static displays
12.45 Closing ceremony and the award of the Congress Certificate
1.00 Scheduled Close

Zoom Registration – if you want to follow on Zoom then please email mike@stamps.org.uk